Contemporary (Age 16+)

Display date/time
  • Contemporary Dance at The Garage
  • contemporary
  • Overview

    Energising sessions at an open level for all abilities in contemporary dance technique. Classes include exercises and sequences to develop physical awareness, movement flow, co-ordination, mobility, movement memory and broaden technical skill.

    What techniques are taught in this class? Cunningham, Release amongst other influences. 

    What skills are developed/improved? You will learn to move confidently around the space and become more aware of your physicality. You will learn exercises to help improve co-ordination, agility, balance, core strength, movement memory, flow and movement dynamics.

    How is a class structured/what do we do in a class? Class starts with a warm up, exercises to improve mobility/articulation of the spine, feet, legs. Floor work. More energetic and longer sequences to learn about movement flow and dynamics. Travelling steps, turns and jumps. Warm down.

    Why would I come to this class? Because you want to learn about contemporary dance in a safe and friendly environment with other like minded people.

    What level is this class - beginner, improver, intermediate or advanced? All welcome - movement adapted to suit all levels. 

    What should I wear to the class? Leggings or track suit bottoms, T-shirt/vest. Bare feet. No jewellery that will catch.

  • bookings

    BOOK IT - £118.50 for the full 12-week term

    TRY IT - £10 for a taster session

    Call 01603 283382 to book. Payment will be taken at time of booking.

  • DATES

    AUTUMN TERM 2019

    WEEK 1

    Thursday 19 September

    WEEK 2

    Thursday 26 September

    WEEK 3

    Thursday 3 October

    WEEK 4

    Thursday 10 October

    WEEK 5

    Thursday 17 October

    HALF TERM NO CLASS

    Thursday 24 October

    WEEK 6

    Thursday 31 October

    WEEK 7

    Thursday 7 November

    WEEK 8

    Thursday 14 November

    WEEK 9

    Thursday 21 November

    WEEK 10

    Thursday 28 November

    WEEK 11

    Thursday 5 December

    WEEK 12

    Thursday 12 December

     

Artists in this class

If you like this try...